Coverart for item
The Resource A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West

A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West

Label
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps
Title
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps
Statement of responsibility
Chris West
Title variation
A history of America in 36 postage stamps
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "DISCOVER THE INCREDIBLE STORY OF AMERICA THROUGH ITS BEAUTIFUL AND DIVERSE POSTAGE STAMPS IN THIS EXUBERANT AND ALWAYS CHARMING HISTORY. In A History of America in Thirty-six Postage Stamps, Chris West explores America's own rich philatelic history. From George Washington's dour gaze to the charging buffalo of the western frontier and Lindbergh's soaring biplane, American stamps are a vivid window into our country's extraordinary and distinctive past. With the always accessible and spirited West as your guide, discover the remarkable breadth of America's short history through a fresh lens. On their own, stamps can be curiosities, even artistic marvels; in this book, stamps become a window into the larger sweep of history. "--
  • "In A History of America in Thirty-six Postage Stamps, Chris West (author of A History of Britain in Thirty-six Postage Stamps) makes the leap across the Atlantic to take on America's own rich philatelic history. From George Washington's dour gaze to the charging buffalo of the western frontier, to Lindbergh's soaring biplane, American stamps are a vivid window into our country's extraordinary and distinctive past. With the always accessible and spirited West as your guide, discover the remarkable breadth of America's short history through a fresh lens. On their own, stamps can be curiosities, even artistic marvels; in this book, stamps become a window into the larger sweep of history. - With deckle edge and full-color reproductions throughout - For fans of A History of the World in 100 Objects and Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey - A perfect gift for patriots, philatelists, and armchair historians"--
Summary
"DISCOVER THE INCREDIBLE STORY OF AMERICA THROUGH ITS BEAUTIFUL AND DIVERSE POSTAGE STAMPS IN THIS EXUBERANT AND ALWAYS CHARMING HISTORY. In A History of America in Thirty-six Postage Stamps, Chris West explores America's own rich philatelic history. From George Washington's dour gaze to the charging buffalo of the western frontier and Lindbergh's soaring biplane, American stamps are a vivid window into our country's extraordinary and distinctive past. With the always accessible and spirited West as your guide, discover the remarkable breadth of America's short history through a fresh lens. On their own, stamps can be curiosities, even artistic marvels; in this book, stamps become a window into the larger sweep of history. "--
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10377329
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
973
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
HE6183.U54
LC item number
W47 2014
Literary form
non fiction
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/related_authorities
-HTdmzNDZHo
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20362397
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
xii, 336 pages
Isbn
9781250043689
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014033396
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
Label
A history of America in thirty-six postage stamps, Chris West
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20362397
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
xii, 336 pages
Isbn
9781250043689
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2014033396
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations

Library Locations

    • Butler Public LibraryBorrow it
      340 S. Broadway, Butler, IN, 46721, US
      41.4272 -84.871413

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...